Back To News

2017 NJPGA Special Award Winners Announced

September 11th, 2017

Special Award Winners Announced
Bedminster, NJ - The New Jersey PGA and Special Awards Committee are pleased to announce the winners of this year's Special Awards. These awards are distributed by the Section each year, and winners are chosen by the Special Awards Committee. 
The following award winners, who will be honored on Thursday, October 26at the Celebration of Golf at Glen Ridge Country Club, and at the Fall 
Meeting, Monday, October 30 at Fiddler's Elbow Country Club.

2017 Special Award Recipients

Golf Professional of the Year - Scott Paris, Plainfield Country Club
Assistant Professional of the Year - Bryan Dougherty, Hollywood Golf Club
Club of the Year - Glen Ridge Country Club
Teacher of the Year - Jason Carbone, Baltusrol Golf Club
Bill Strausbaugh Award - David Reasoner, The Ridgewood Country Club
Horton Smith Award - Tommy Monteverdi, Glen Ridge Country Club
Salesperson of the Year - Jim Guerra, Dunning/Greg Norman Collection
Patriot Award - George Ancuta, Knoll Golf Club
Private Merchandiser of the Year - Mat Kent, Fiddler's Elbow Country Club
Public Merchandiser of the Year - Pat Lawler, Rockleigh Golf Course
Player Development Award - Scott Chisholm, Baltusrol Golf Club
Youth Player Development Award - Mike Andrusin, Berkshire Valley
In addition to our 12 Section winners, the New Jersey PGA also had one 
National PGA Special Award recipient, Mike Strlekar of Montclair Golf Club, who was awarded the National Private Merchandiser of the Year. 
About the New Jersey PGA: The NJPGA is one of 41 geographic sections apart of the PGA America since 1931 and represents 496 PGA Members and over 270 golf facilities in central and northern New Jersey.