Back To News

Sixteen PGA Professionals Remain at the Greg Norman Collection Match Play Championship

May 8th, 2018

Sixteen Section Professionals remain at the Greg Norman Collection Match Play Championship presented by Morell Studios and Golf Max and supported by the PGA Tour.

Related: Bracket | Preview Video

Host PGA Professional Daniel Joseph of Somerset Hills Country Club earned a pair of victories with a win over Trump Colts Neck's Bill Britton, the No. 12 seed, in 19 holes, while picking up a second round win against Travis Deibert of The Ridge at Back Brook, 1 Up.

Stay Connected: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Widget Parse Error: Unable To Identify Streamotor Video

“I definitely felt like I had a little bit of an advantage,” Joseph said. “There was an instance on five, where we both played it in the back left corner by the ridges, and luckily with some course knowledge, props to my caddie, we trusted something that was a little strange and ended up two-putting to win the hole.”

Top-seeded Alex Beach of Baltusrol Golf Club advanced to the final 16, earning a win against Brian Mackey of Echo Lake Country Club. Mackey advanced to the U.S. Open sectionals yesterday. Frank Esposito Jr. of Forsgate Country Club, a three-time winner of the event, earned a pair of victories to reach the second day. 

Upper Montclair Country Club's Tyler Hall, competing in his first Match Play Championship, picked up a 5 and 4 win against Craig Smith of Morris County Golf Club in the second round.

"I've been looking forward to the Match Play since I made this transition to this side of the golf industry," Hall said. "Seeing the names that have won it, it's a pretty prestigious event."

Widget Parse Error: Unable To Identify Streamotor Video  

Defending champion David Reasoner of The Ridgewood Country Club fell in the first round to Ryan Fountaine of Baltusrol Golf Club, 1 Up. Daniel Kinn of Acushnet Company, who won the Match Play Championship in 2016, dropped his opening round match to John McCarthy of Morris County Golf Club, 2 and 1. Brett Jones of Due Process, who won in 2015, lost in the second round to Ken Pridgen of Suneagles Golf Club, 2 and 1.